Title III - ESOL

Title III - ESOL
English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) is a state-funded instructional program for eligible English Learners (ELs) in grades K-12.  The ESOL program is a standards-based curriculum emphasizing academic and social language development. ESOL coursework is based upon the WIDA Consortium English Language Development (ELD) standards. Classroom teachers integrate these ELD standards with the Georgia content area standards to enable ELs to both communicate in English and demonstrate their academic, social, and cultural proficiency. 

Title III is a federally-funded program that provides eligible Local Education Agencies with funding to supplement those ESOL services already in place.  Both ESOL and Title III hold students accountable for progress in, and attainment of, English language proficiency. Upon attainment of English language proficiency, students exit from supplemental language services.

Eligibility for Language Support Services
The Georgia Department of Education provides the criteria to determine eligibility for language support services.  This criteria includes the student's native, home, and first language as one other than English.  Additionally, s
tudents who have difficulty listening, speaking, reading, writing or understanding the English language to the extent that their language skills are a barrier to their success in a regular classroom will be eligible for language services.


School ESOL Lead Teachers

 Elementary Schools
                      



Black's Mill Elementary
Holly Bottoms             
hbottoms@dawson.k12.ga.us
Riverview Elementary
Moylan Claire Freedman
 moylan.freedman@dawson.k12.ga.us
  Kilough Elementary
Tania Hand
tania.hand@dawson.k12.ga.us
Robinson Elementary
Tiffany Turner
tturner@dawson.k12.ga.us 
 
 
Middle/Junior High Schools
  Dawson County Middle
Renee Rogers 
rrogers@dawson.k12.ga.us
Dawson County Junior High
Natalie Flanagan
nflanagan@dawson.k12.ga.us
 

High School
  Dawson County High
Melissa Gilstrap
melissa.gilstrap@dawson.k12.ga.us





Resources

GA Department of Education Title III/ESOL
World Class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA)
FY22 DCS ESOL Handbook


District Title III-A & ESOL Contact
Mrs. Tracey Compton
Director of School Improvement & Accountability
(706) 265 - 3246 ext. 1038
tcompton@dawson.k12.ga.us