Board Members


Board Pic
Dawson County Board of Education Members and Superintendent were recognized
at the virtual GSBA Winter Conference as a finalist for the 2020 Governance Team of the Year award. 
The Board of Education also achieved GSBA Exemplary status for 2020.


The Dawson County Board of Education is a group of five citizens who are elected by the voters in four geographic areas of the county to govern the public school system. It is the Board members' responsibility to ensure that the school system operates efficiently, is financially and legally sound, and has the best interest of children as its primary focus. 

The Board is responsible for setting the school system's annual budget and for securing the funding necessary for operating the schools. Foremost in the minds of all board members is their commitment to providing the best possible education for all students so that each can reach his/her maximum potential. Countless hours are devoted by Board members in planning and training to ensure that the children of Dawson County are given a quality education. 

The Board meets in regular session on the second Tuesday night of each month (with the exception of April when the meeting is held the third Tuesday) at 6:00 p.m. The Tuesday night preceding the second Tuesday is the Board's work session. Work Sessions begin at 5:00 p.m.  All official meetings of the Board are open to the public and follow Robert's Rules of Order, Revised. Policies have been established for speakers regarding the appropriate nature and content of public presentations at Board meetings. Citizens are encouraged to attend so that they can become better acquainted with the operation and programs of the school system. 

Public Participation in Board Meetings

Meetings of the Board of Education are held to conduct the affairs and business of the school system.  Although these meetings are not meetings of the public, the public is invited to attend all meetings and members of the public are invited to address the Board at appropriate times and in accordance with procedures established by the Board or Superintendent. 

The Superintendent shall make available at all meetings of the Board procedures allowing members of the public to address the Board on issues of concern.  These procedures shall also be available at the offices of the school district and shall be given, upon request, to anyone requesting a copy.

All presentations to the Board are to be brief and are intended for the Board to hear comments or concerns without taking action.

What if I have a question, complaint, or want information?

The Board of Education, as the legal governing body of the school system, holds the ultimate decision-making authority for the system. However, many concerns or questions can be addressed at the local school or department level, and citizens are encouraged first to direct their attention there. School offices are open from 7:30 a.m. until 4 p.m. daily. Also, the Superintendent's office is open from 7:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Concerned citizens may reach this office by calling (706) 265-3246 during normal business hours. 

2019 Meeting Schedule

2020 Meeting Schedule

2021 Meeting Schedule

School Board Districts

Dawson County is divided into five districts for representation on the Board of Education. Members must live in the district they represent but are elected by the county at-large. Members serve four-year staggered terms with three members elected during one election and two during the next. Communities served by each district are as follows: District I: Juno, Westside, Amicalola; District II: Dawsonville; District III: Liberty, Kilough; District IV: Black's Mill, Barrettsville; At-Large: (Member can reside in any district.)

The Superintendent

One of the Board's most important duties is the appointment of a superintendent to manage the operations of the school system. Dr. Damon Gibbs was appointed by the Board in 2014 and is currently serving as the Superintendent of Schools. 

Photo of Elaine Wilson 
Photo of Doris Cook
 Photo of Karen Armstrong
Elaine Wilson

Doris Cook
Vice- Chairperson
 Karen Armstrong

Barry Slaton
 Nathan Ingram DG 
Barry Slaton Nathan Ingram

Dr. Damon Gibbs

Leading Edge Award
2019 Dawson County BOE Chairperson, Roger Slaton, accepts an award from GSBA for Dawson County Schools as a Leading Edge winner.

Governance Team of Year
Our Board of Education was recognized at the 2018 GSBA Winter Conference as a top 10 finalist for the Governance Team of the Year!

Roger Slaton

Roger Slaton being recognized by Valerie Wilson, GSBA Executive Director, at the GSBA Annual Conference for 30 years of board service.


Exemplary Board

Valerie Wilson, GSBA Executive Director, recognizing the Dawson County Board of Education as an Exemplary Board.